Manchester City Council Report for Resolution

Report to: Constitutional and Nomination Committee – 16 May 2017

Subject: Membership of Committees 2017/18 and the Appointment of Chairs of

Committees

Report of: City Solicitor

Purpose of report

The Constitutional and Nomination Committee is asked to make recommendations to the Council about the size and composition of the Council's committees and to appoint chairs and deputy chairs of the committees detailed in this report.

Recommendations

The Committee is asked to make recommendations to Council about:

- 1. the size of the Council's committees;
- 2. the appointment of members to serve on the various committees listed in the report;
- 3. the appointment of members to serve as chairs of scrutiny committees, chairs of non executive committees, and the deputy chairs of the Planning and Highways Committee, and Licensing and Appeals Committee;
- 4. the appointment of a member for the purpose of answering questions at Council on the work of the Standards Committee, in accordance with Article 9 of the Council Constitution.

Contact Officers

Donna Barnes Governance Officer 0161 234 3037 d.barnes@manchester.gov.uk

Background documents

The following documents disclose important facts on which the report is based and have been relied upon in preparing the report. Copies of the background documents are available up to 4 years after the date of the meeting. If you would like a copy please contact one of the contact officers above.

- Section 15-17, Local Government and Housing Act 1989.
- The Local Government (Committee and Political Groups) Regulations 1989.
- Health and Social Care Act 2012
- Council Constitution.

Background

Government regulations require the Council to appoint membership of its committees in accordance with the principles of political balance as far as reasonably practicable. Due to the composition of the Council after the election, there are no restrictions to the number of seats on each committee. Details of the suggested number of available seats on each committee are included below. This is based on the numbers for the previous municipal year but the numbers can be amended accordingly. The Committee is asked to make recommendations to the Council about the membership of these committees.

Art Galleries [14 elected members and 7 co-opted members]

Audit Committee [9 elected members and 2 co-opted members]

Children and Young People Scrutiny Committee [currently 9 members plus one vacancy and 5 co-opted members]

Communities and Equalities Scrutiny Committee [13 members]

Constitutional and Nomination Committee [9 members]

Economy Scrutiny Committee [15 members]

Health Scrutiny Committee [13 members]

Licensing and Appeals Committee [14 members]

Licensing Committee [14 members]

Licensing Policy Committee [6 members]

Neighbourhoods and Environment Scrutiny Committee [17 members]

Personnel Committee [10 members] - Membership formula comprises the Leader of the Council (or a Deputy) the 6 Executive Members and the Assistant Executive Member (Finance and Human Resources)

Planning and Highways Committee [14 members]

Resources and Governance Scrutiny Committee [15 members]

Standing Executive Consultative Panel [6 Assistant Executive Members].

Other Committees

Some of the Council's committees are subject to specific rules about membership. These details are included below. The Committee is asked to make recommendations to Council about the membership of these committees.

Employee Appeals Committee

The composition of the Committee was amended in October 2013 to consist of the following structure:

- the Executive Member with a relevant portfolio (i.e. Executive Member for the service in which the employee was working or the Executive Member with a portfolio relevant to the specific subject area of the appeal) or an appropriate Assistant Executive Member,
- and two members drawn from drawn from the Council's Executive Members or the Assistant Executive Members, or elected members drawn from a prescribed 'pool' of 15 members.

The Constitutional and Nomination Committee is asked to confirm this composition and agree the members in the prescribed pool.

Wythenshawe Area Committee

Wythenshawe Area Committee has 15 members consisting of all members that represent the five Wythenshawe wards so it is not subject to political balance. The Committee is asked to agree the membership of this committee.

Health and Wellbeing Board

The membership of the Health and Wellbeing Board comprises of councillors as well as NHS and council officers. The Council appointed the Leader of the Council (chair) and the Executive Member of Families Health and Wellbeing. The membership was agreed at the meeting of Council on 27 March 2013 and subsequent amendments have been agreed through the Constitutional and Nomination Committee.

Following a review of the governance structure of the Board, there are a number of changes to the proposed membership. The Health and Wellbeing Board has supported the changes and has recommended that they are adopted by the Council. The proposed changes to membership are set out below. The Board has also agreed that each member should have a named substitute but these will be put to the committee at a later date. The Constitution and Nomination Committee is asked to commend the changes to Council. The proposed membership is:

Leader of the Council (Chair)

Executive Member for Adults (MCC)

Executive Member for Public Service Reform (MCC)

Executive Member for Children (MCC)

Chair, Central Manchester Clinical Commissioning Group

Chair, North Manchester Clinical Commissioning Group

Chair, South Manchester Clinical Commissioning Group

Chair, Central Manchester Foundation Trust

Chair, University Hospital South Manchester

Chair, Penine Acute Hospital Trust

Chair, Manchester Mental Health and Social Care Trust

Voluntary and Community Sector representative

Chair, Healthwatch

Primary Care representative

Strategic Director of Children's Services

Director of Public Health

Strategic Director of Adult Social Services

NHS Commissioning Board representative

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee consists of six councillors, 2 co-opted members and 1 member from Ringway Parish Council. It was agreed that the requirement for political balanced be waived. The committee is asked to agree membership for 2017/18.

Chairs and Deputy Chairs

The Committee is asked to recommend the appointment of the chairs of the following scrutiny committees, and the committees discharging non executive functions.

Art Galleries Committee

Audit Committee

Young People and Children Scrutiny Committee

Communities Scrutiny Committee

Constitutional and Nomination Committee

Economy Scrutiny Committee

Finance Scrutiny Committee

Health Scrutiny Committee

Licensing and Appeals Committee

Licensing Committee

Licensing Policy Committee

Neighbourhoods Scrutiny Committee

Planning and Highways Committee

Standards Committee (this should be an independent member of the

committee)

Deputy Chairs

The Committee is asked to recommend the appointment of the Deputy Chair of the Planning and Highways Committee, the Licensing Committee, and the Licensing and Appeals Committee.

Standards Committee: Article 9 Appointment

The Committee is asked to recommend the appointment of a member for the purpose of answering questions at Council about the work of the Standards Committee, in accordance with Article 9 of the Council's Constitution.